kcip is offline New Member

Default Windows 10 Update - Black screen with no cursor

Hello,

I have been running Windows 10 on my Lenovo T450s for the past several months with no problems. A few weeks ago, an update was rolled out (it showed up on my shutdown / restart menu), but I deferred installing it until today. The laptop is a standard T450s with an i5 processor, and integrated video card.

The update seems to have caused a problem where my PC gets stuck on the Lenovo splash screen or sometimes black screen with no movement or cursor. Initially, I thought the update was installing, but this went on for over an hour. I have done quite a bit of googling and this problem seems to be fairly common. Unfortunately, I have not been able to find a solution and I was hoping that someone from the Windows Club could help me.

I can only access the BIOS by restarting 3 times in a row before the "To interrupt normal startup, Press Enter" options shows up on the Lenovo splash screen.

I have tried the Startup Repair option as well as the System Restore option. The startup repair utility tells me that it couldn't repair my PC. When I attempted the restore, I did not have any system restore points.

I then downloaded Windows 10 Media Utility to a flash drive and tried installing it. I was unable to re-install through a USB drive. I read that this is common on laptops due to the multiple hard drive partitions, needing to disable secure boot and changing from UEFI boot to Legacy.

I know that I can restore to the factory settings, but I am saving that as a last resort because I have some files that I would prefer not losing.

I'm currently looking for a VGA cable to see if I plug my laptop into a monitor if that will do anything.

Thank you in advance,

Kcip

HappyAndyK is offline Site Administrator

Arun Kumar is offline MVP Alumni