Froghammer is offline New Member

Post Can't find "Turn Off Encryption Support" using policy editor

Folks:

Running Win 7 Home Premium

I'm very frustrated:

1. Ninite stopped working and stated: "A connection with server could not be established [0x80072efd]; Cannot connect; 354".

2. Tried a competitor Allmyapps which didn't work either stating: "Allmyaps servers couldn't be reached. Make sure Allmyapps can connect to the Internet, or try again later."

3. Alos found that I cannot connect to Google while using IE 11. However I can access Google using Firefox.

4. Trolling around the web I started learning About SSL and TLS and found all were unchecked, and greyed out under IE 11 Advanced tab. Could this be the source of my problem? However, there was no way for me to check any of these boxes. IE11 would not allow me to.

5. I found online that I could force IE to use TLS protocols by editing the "Turn off Encryption Support" policy in the registry.

6. From the policy editor, every website I found said go to: Computer Configuration > Administrative Templates > Windows Components > Internet Explorer > Internet Explorer Control Panel > Advanced Page > Turn Off Encryption Support

However "Turn Off Encryption Support" was not there. I cannot find Turn Off Encryption Support anywhere. After weeks of reading and figuring this out I find I'm at a dead end and very , very frustrated.

How can I turn on TLS? Will that solve my access problems.

Please advise:

Froghammer

Please advise.

Kapil Arya is offline Microsoft MVP

Hello and welcome to TWCF,

Open Registry Editor and navigate:

HKLM\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVe rsion\Internet Settings
    Set SecureProtocols (REG_DWORD) = a0 (hexadecimal base), and see if it works. If that doesn't helps, set it to a8 (hexadecimal base).

Hope this helps, Good luck

Froghammer is offline New Member

Quote Originally Posted by Kapil Arya View Post
    Hello and welcome to TWCF,

Open Registry Editor and navigate: