radar90 is offline New Member

Default Windows 8.1 Pro keeps stopping, freezing, crashing

Hi I am a Newbie here,

I have an HP Laptop, Pavilion HDX 9250EA, that has been a brilliant computer, the OS ( C: ) hard drive failed and the Data ( D: ) hard drive was starting to fail, so I did something I don't normally do, I went for a major upgrade to the system by installing 2 x M500 480gb SSD's and installed WIndows 8.1 Pro. There have been issues with drivers and the hard drives but I have run through and cleared most, but I am getting near to cracking as the system just locks.

Firstly the mouse pointer fixes still and then the hard drives then stop flashing and I have to restart the laptop by pressing the on/off button. I have done a clean install and purchased various software to ensure the drives are correct but still the problem.

Can someone please help me as I am coming to the end of my tether.

Regards
    Radar90.

Digerati is offline Windows Enthusiast

Hmmm, did you run the applicable Windows 8 Upgrade Assistant before attempting 8.1? HP has only provided drivers for Vista.

If I were to assume this is NOT a power problem (and I am not assuming anything at this point), then I would say this is clearly a driver compatibility issue. While Vista, W7, and W8/8.1 all share the same driver data base, not all drivers are interchangeable, or compatible.

Firstly the mouse pointer fixes still and then the hard drives then stop flashing and I have to restart the laptop by pressing the on/off button.
    So does it ever make it all the way through POST? If so, when does it start doing this?

Digerati is offline Windows Enthusiast

Windows 8.1 Pro wasn't an upgrade it was a straight install
    No, not proper logic and not according to your first post where you said, or at least implied you "upgraded" this computer from an older operating system (Vista, then W7) to 8.1.