Page 1 of 4 123 ... Last
    amkeew is offline Beginner

Default Any tips for a new laptop ?

Hi

I am a newbie from India referred to by another forum member here.

I intend to gift my college-going daughter a new laptop for her recent excellent academic performance. My budget is around Indian Rupees 30,000 to 40,000 (US $ 600 to 800).

My initial specs

Weight < 2 kgs
    Screen - 13 to 14 inches
    OS - Vista Home Premium
    RAM - 2 GB minimum
    Processor speed - 2 GHz(+)
    HD - 160 to 250 GB
    Wireless lan and blue tooth

Anything else to add to these specs ?

Would appreciate any tips for a good laptop available in India (either on-line or across the counter in Chennai).

I looked at sony vaio VGN-CS22GH/B costing Rs. 40,000.
    Sony - VAIO

Is it worth that money ?

Thanks in advance.

pyu.agrawal is offline Senior Member

First thing, try to hold off just a little while longer. PC's installed with Windows Vista, and purchased between June 26, 2009 and Jan 31, 2010 (final dates not yet announced), will qualify for a free upgrade to Windows 7.
    Coming back to your question, its looks impressive, but you may try to build your own at Dell

Peeyush

Thanks for the tip about purchase date. So, you think windows 7 will be better than vista ?

Dell light weight laptop studio xps 13 starts at Rs 60,000. Way beyond my budget.

whs
    whs is offline Gold Member

Windows7 is no better than Vista. It just has a few more features on the one side and a few less features on the other side. But it is the future windows release that is in the pipeline and pyu.agrawal was pointing out that there may be a free upgrade to W7 when you buy the laptop a little later in the summer - that is if you can wait. I am running a W7 Beta (pre release version). I am only moderately impressed with it.