Arun Kumar is offline MVP Alumni

Question Best Anti Virus For Windows 8.1

I am back to 8.1 as I wish to get the feel and then move to Windows 10 as it is released (consumer version). Meanwhile, I am at loss whether to install MSE or other AV on my computer. I believed that MSE comes preinstalled with Windows 8.1 and so does Defender. But there are no options to right click downloaded files and run a scan.

1. Does MSE comes preinstalled with 8.1?
    2. If not, what AV to use so that it doesn't slow down my computer (it's just 1.6GHz, 2GB RAM)

Thanks in advance,
    Arun Kumar.

hackerman1 is offline Moderator

Microsoft renamed MSE to Defender in W8.
    Which of course created a lot of confusions, since Defender was something else in previous versions....
    Considering the testresults for MSE / Defender lately, a 3rd party antimalware-program is a very good idea....

Personally I always recommend Emsisoft AntiMalware (EAM).
    I have been using it for many years now.
    EAM uses litte resources and does not slow down your computer.
    It works well on older computers with slow CPU´s and limited amount of RAM, like yours.
    Emsisoft also provides excellent support, via direct contact and their own forum.

Emsisoft Anti-Malware for best protection - Free removal of Viruses, Bots, Spyware, Keyloggers, Trojans and Rootkits

And EAM has got excellent results in antimalware-tests, take a look at my posts under Security

If you choose EAM, then I can help you with a few tips about the best settings for your computer....
    Last edited by hackerman1; 7th February 2015 at 10:33.

Thank you, hackerman. I am going to download and install EAM right now. I would also want to check out the tips you have for me.

Thanks

HappyAndyK is offline Site Administrator

You can Add Scan With Windows Defender To Context Menu using Ultimate Windows Tweaker 3.