hctim56 is offline New Member

Default solutions going backwards

Hello everyone I am hctim56. I have little experience in forums and I hope my thread is not to long. While checking for solutions for some minor problems in my problems reports and solutions area microsoft suggested to me my system might be unstable and suggested going to ther microsoft update site. Soon after I clicked onto the site I encountered this message (the website has encountered a problem and can not display page there was also error# 80070002). Then it went on and offered various options. I tried turning off windows updater server then deleted all info. in the data store folder restarted server and still had the same problem. Another had me enter some text in command prompt. Also to no avail. I could not find that solution again so I can not relay that info. to you. The last one I tried had me remove netframe 1.1 and download and install netframe 1.1 redistribatable when I tried installing the download I received this message. (extracting file failed low memory or corrupted cabinet file). I ran the windows memory diagnostic tool and no problems were reported. In between trying these solutions I had tried at various times to access the microsoft forum that I am registered in each time I encountered there screen saying I am logged in but the the rest of the screen was totally white except for the word done at the bottom indicating it was done loading info. I also noticed that at serveral times durning the day I kept getting references for my problems from microsoft about the solutions being for windows 2000, windows xp and windows server 2000. I guess this would be a good time to tell that I am using windows vista home premium that came on a computer that I bought brand new two years ago.So I know it is a legally licensed copy.I had noticed these same references at various other time while at a microsoft site sometimes getting a message saying the download is not compatible for my system even