DOWNLOAD: Best tool to repair Windows problems & optimize system performance | Best driver update software for your PC

Thread: How to partition a new windows 7 laptop?

regardspra is offline New Member

Default How to partition a new windows 7 laptop?

alright, please bare with me here I am new to this.

I have bought new laptop with windows 7 64 bit. I have total of 320GB HD.

I want to partition the HD into C drive which the normal drive whr all the software will go. and D drive which will be the data drive.

now after doing hours of searching, i havnt gotten any where except finding out that I dont need to boot my laptop the way i used to do it in xp. windows 7 has it built in. so i did all that. going to control panel/ and geting to admin tools which gets me to disk management.

this is where I get stuck. I opened that disk management window and it shows FOUR boxes as follows:
    1) 200 MB- Healthy (System, Active, Primary Partition)
    2) (C 200GB NTFS- Healthy (Boot, Page File, Crash Dump, Primary partition)
    3) Lenovo (D NTFS - 30.33 GB Healthy (Logical Drive)
    4) 14.75GB- Healthy (OEM Partition)

just to give you more details, my C drive has all the softwares, and D drive has one folder which is "drivers".

I have no clue what the other things are but I am guessing that the C and D drive are already made for me. which is great. so i thought all i have to do is free up some space from C put it in D and i should be good to go. so i tried it, i was able to free up space from C drive, but was not able to allocate it to D drive nor was i able to make a new drive as I got error saying I have maxed out on drives.

obviously i was wrong cuz I am here explaing all this to you. so the 100GB worth question is, how do i allocate 100GB from my C drive into my D drive which I am guessin is for data use. also do i neeed the 1st and 4th items that I have listed above?

I would really appreciate if someone can help me out with this.

Thanks