Thread: Laptop gets Shutdown due to over heat upon scanning my 2TB external Hard disk

kishore is offline New Member

Default Laptop gets Shutdown due to over heat upon scanning my 2TB external Hard disk

Hi I am newbie here, I own a Dell laptop with Core 2 Duo 2.4GHZ, 3 GB ram, Windows XP installed. Recently I have purchased a Seagate 2TB external hard disk and filled 480GB. Yesterday I put a scan using my Kaspersky Internet security, while the scan is about to complete my laptop gets shutdown showing an "error Over heated". What should i do? Is it ok? or anything dangerous to my laptop or to my external hard disk?

By to by I haven't partitioned my external hard disk. Partitioning and scanning individual partitions can avoid it?

J_B_MVP is offline Microsoft MVP

Hello Kishore and welcome to the forum.

Over heating can be caused by numerous problems, not least dust build up on the fans in your laptop. Dust and fibres can also block the exit grills causing your laptop to over heat. This is one of the problems with laptops there is so much equipment packed inside them as it is difficult, compared to a desktop, to get adequate airflow to keep the machine cool.

If the source of the over heating is not located and remedied then, obviously it will eventually damage your laptop. At the moment the machine is turning itself off as it hits that critical temperature.

Had your machine been a desktop you could have removed the cover to see if the extra airflow helped; however you can't do this with a laptop. You can check the fan grill(s) to see if anything is blocking them. Alternatively it may be worth getting a technician to look at the machine and give it a good clean.