Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Desktop Icons disappearing??

shibumi is offline New Member

Default Desktop Icons disappearing??

hi there, as you can see I am a newbie to this forum so I hope someone can help. The problem is that my Icons have disappeared leaving only the name of the program showing, the programs are there only no Icon.

I down loaded the Windows Club Icon Cache rebuilder, ran the rebuilder and rebooted the system and the Icons returned, only to disappear again at the next reboot. I ran the rebuilder again and the Icons came back. How do I permanently keep the Icons showing?? and not having to run the rebuilder after each reboot. Many thanks. Shibumi.

Windows 7 Home Premium SP1, 64bit.

DustinH is offline Senior Member

Look at this article to rebuild the icon cache. It usually fixes this problem: How to Rebuild the Icon Cache in Windows Vista and Windows 7 - The Winhelponline Blog

Hope this helps!

Hi there DustinH, thanks for the quick reply and link, I'll try it out in the morning and let you know the result, cheers, Shibumi.

whs
    whs is offline Gold Member

If I understand this right, the icons disappear during reboot (could be during shutdown too). Maybe there is a startup program that throws a monkey wrench.

I suggest you disable all startup programs for a test reboot the system and see what happens.

Hi whs, checked and startup programs are not the problem, as I said in my original thread, I down loaded the Windows Club Icon Cache rebuilder, ran the rebuilder and rebooted the system and the Icons returned,
    only to disappear again at the next restart, so something must be interfering with the icon folder, I haven't tried the above link from DustinH as yet as I am not too confident going into the registry and changing things,
    are there any more suggestions from anybody?? Many thanks, Shibumi.

HappyAndyK is offline Site Administrator