Thread: Beginners Guide On How To Get A High Google PageRank.

HappyAndyK is offline Site Administrator

Post Beginners Guide On How To Get A High Google PageRank.

There is already SO MUCH written on this topic already, so just quoting Google and touching upon my personal experiences here, since there appear to be quite a few Microsoft tech related bloggers here on this forum. And yes, I also must admit before-hand itself, that I am a layman in this area actually. So if you have anything to add, please do so.

Your site's ranking in Google search results is partly based on analysis of those sites that link to you. The quantity, quality, and relevance of links count towards your rating.

However, some webmasters engage in link exchange schemes and build partner pages exclusively for the sake of cross-linking, disregarding the quality of the links, the sources, and the long-term impact it will have on their sites. Such link exchanges can negatively impact your site's search engine rankings:
    Links intended to manipulate PageRank
    Links to web spammers or bad neighborhoods on the web
    Excessive reciprocal links or excessive link exchanging
    Buying or selling links that pass PageRank

The best way to get other sites to create relevant links to yours is to create unique, relevant content that can quickly gain popularity in the Internet community. The more useful content you have, the greater the chances someone else will find that content valuable to their readers and link to it.

So before making any decision, you should ask yourself the question: Is this link going to be beneficial for my page's visitors? It is not just the number of links you have pointing to your site that matters, but also the quality and relevance of those links.