Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By Corrine

Thread: Windows 7 firewall settings - problem updating Java

Tanya is offline New Member

Default Windows 7 firewall settings - problem updating Java

I don't know if i've posted this in the right place, but i really need some advice on windows firewall 7,
    my comp isn't very old, and i'm a complete newbie when it comes to this new system, all i knew was XP!

Since i don't have a complete internet security suite anymore i've pondered on my inbound and outbound exceptions, which is why i need some advice!
    Since i can't figure out how to post screen shots of those exceptions, and there so many to list, i'm not sure if anyone can help me!
    They are all to do with core networking :/
    the outbound exceptions are all to do with core networking too but they go out to any remote address and using any port! surely this isn't right?

I have restored default settings to my firewall and now i'm having a problem updating Java :/

I've googled lots of things to get clued up on it all but most things i read left me even more confused!
    I was told that there was no need to have any inbound or outbound exceptions but others have said thats completely untrue!

I just want to know if i'm safe online, and any advice would be greatly appreciated, ty

Tanya

imtovec is offline New Member

Try using microsoft security essentiel+comodo firewall =this software is free to use and very effective to control firewall activity in your window 7 effective the prevent malicious virus from spreading in your machine .

hackerman1 is offline Senior Member

hi !

Tanya: its difficult to understand the problem without seeing any screenshots, so try to take some...

to make screenshots:
    1. press the "PrintScreen-button"
    2. open the program "Paint" (type "Paint" in the small window above the "Start-button")
    3. in "Paint", click on "Paste" in the upper left corner