DOWNLOAD: Best tool to repair Windows problems & optimize system performance | Best driver update software for your PC

Thread: Lost boot & setup password

shalba1 is offline New Member

Default Lost boot & setup password

Hi,

I'm a total newbie to this forum, but I hope that this post is o.k.

I've been into computers, since the 80's, with a breadboard TI14. Steve Jobs was wiring the Apple I, as a breadboard, out in his garage.

Anyway, I'm completely stumped. I was running Vista Home Basic, OEM, on a Acer desktop computer. I had a Vista Ultimate disk, and I decided to **upgrade** to that. Let me say, that as far as I'm concerned, I'd like use Win98 second update. (Actually Win95.) My commentary on Windows, is that when Microsoft decided to Abandon Win NT, was when the trouble started.
    My son works for M/S, and I asked him ... "seems to me, that what is going on, is that each new version is more and more like Win NT, and less and less like the "good old plug and pray" version".

I really hated Microsoft, for marketing Win ME. It was Win 2000, stripped of a whole lot of apps.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I'm sorry for the rant, but let me tell you what happened when I upgraded to Vista Ultimate. (I checked, and my Acer was Ultimate ready) Well first of all, just about all of my apps wouldn't work. I finally located the site on ACER, which had a few single download ... but then! Wonders, a download which took care of everything which was made by Nvidia. Networkind, audio, and, of course video, and some strange files which made no sense to me. Before that, I had, in desperation, tried for downloads from M/S, or, help in the knowledge base, because I kept getting messages like "mploc.dll is not the correct version. And, other drivers which had the same problem. I decided to boot my Acer backup disk, but couldn't succeed, from inside Windows. So, I started my computer, and pushed delete, to make my DVD drive, the primary startup.